Chocolate Mousse Baseball Cake


 

Chocolate Mousse Baseball Cake!

 

I keep losing my chocolate cake recipe! I usually end up using a one bowl chocolate cake recipe because it’s so easy to make and is so moist, but I wanted to have a firm cake for this because I knew it would fall apart once I put it together. Normally I would put coffee, milk, and oil in the batter because I don’t like using butter. I don’t know what I do wrong, but every time I use butter in chocolate cake it ends up dry. I tried butter with this cake though and added a little milk, and it came out firm but moist inside! Perfect for the frosting! I’m guessing that creaming the sugar and butter in the beginning is what’s key. I get impatient and don’t beat the sugar and butter enough. Nice learning experience about butter for me hahaha.

**Warning: if you’re using the aluminum pans from Michaels or Joann’s, and you’re making a 2 layer cake like I did, make sure you wash the pan and re-grease before the second batch (don’t just spray it..you need to use shortening and dust it with flour) or else the cake won’t come out and you’ll have a mess in your hands like me and my lazy self!**

These baseball cakes were 2 layers each and I only had one pan.. The recipe calls for 45 minute oven time so I did a lot of waiting. I suggest (if you buy the aluminum pan) baking at 350 deg. for 25 instead of 325 like my recipe (scroll down) will say. If I had 2 pans I would keep the temp the same.

Anyways, after these chocolate mousse cakes I worked on 2 red velvet cakes and a mocha. More pictures to follow!

 

Chocolate Cake Recipe

  • 2 & 1/2 cups sifted all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1  & 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 & 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 4 medium sized eggs
  • 1 & 2/3 cups cold water
  • 1 cup sifted cocoa powder, unsweetened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup butter
  1. Preheat oven to 325 deg. Grease 2-9 in. pans with shortening and sprinkle with flour. Set aside.
  2. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt 3 times. Set aside.
  3. Combine cocoa, cold water and vanilla. Mix until smooth. Set aside in the refrigerator to maintain the coldness.
  4. Cream butter and sugar for 10 minutes at medium speed (speed 4)
  5. Speed 6- add eggs one at a time beating well after each addition.
  6. At low speed, add dry ingredients alternately with the mixture of cocoa, cold water and vanilla. Mix until smooth.
  7. Fold mixture into 2-9inch round pans.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes or until done.

Leave a Reply

